Wednesday, 1 March 2017

Off the Ice (Juniper Falls #1) by Julie Cross

Sponsored post: I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.
Off the Ice (Juniper Falls, #1)
Blurb (from Goodreads):
The NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of Whatever Life Throws at You kicks off a brand-new series perfect for fans of Miranda Kennealy and Abbi Glines.

All is fair in love and hockey…

Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business—a hockey bar beside the ice rink—afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.

Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.

It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.

For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.


Off the Ice by Julie Cross

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Off the Ice (Juniper Falls, #1)This was a YA contemporary romance featuring a high-school hockey player.

The characters in this were okay, but I found it a bit hard to relate to them. I did feel a bit sorry for Claire with her having to deal with her dad’s cancer, and for Tate having to deal with an abusive father, but I just found it hard to connect with them.

The storyline in this was about Claire dealing with her father’s cancer and working in his bar, and about Tate being scouted for college hockey teams. We did get some romance between the two, but it was really slow and got a bit lost for me, and I didn’t feel sucked into the story the way I expected to.

The ending to this was okay, but I was disappointed with the book overall.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment