Thursday, 16 February 2017

The Release (The Prey #3) by Tom Isbell

Sponsored post: I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
The Release (The Prey #3)
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Who will survive? In the thrilling conclusion to the gripping YA postapocalyptic trilogy that began with The Prey, Book and Hope must risk everything—including their lives—in order to defeat the enemies who deem them “Less Thans” in the Republic of the True America.

This heart-pounding, fast-paced survival adventure is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner.

I knew it couldn’t have been as idyllic as it looked on the page, but a part of me ached for a return to that life, where everyone was a part of the whole and there weren’t men on ATVs hunting down the weak and different. A return to a world without Less Thans.

Two months have passed since Book, Cat, Hope, and the others rescued the remaining Less Thans, but no one is safe yet. The group must leave Liberty for good and escape the wolves, the Brown Shirts, and the Hunters. Most important, they need to stop Chancellor Maddox before she executes her Final Solution and grows even more powerful.

While the others are seeking freedom, for Hope the battle has become personal. She wants revenge, no matter what the cost.

Tom Isbell’s suspenseful postapocalyptic series comes to a thrilling conclusion as the group must risk everything in order to defeat their enemies.


The Release by Tom Isbell

My rating: 3.25 of 5 stars


The Release (The Prey #3) “Any final words of advice?” Book asks Goodman Dougherty.
“Yeah, don’t piss anyone off.”


This was a YA dystopian, and the end of the series.

Book and Hope were strong characters in this, but they were also quite separate for most of the book, with Hope’s dislike of her scars causing a rift between them.

The storyline in this was about rescuing the remaining Less Thans, running from wolves and hunters, and also about Hope getting revenge on Chancellor Maddox. We did get some action, but it felt like there was quite a lot of travelling going on as well, and the pace was quite slow because of it.

The ending to this was pretty good, and I was happy with the way things were resolved.



6.5 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment