Tuesday, 14 February 2017

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Sponsored post: I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
American Street
Blurb (from Goodreads):
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?


American Street by Ibi Zoboi

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


American Street “We will get my Manman.
I exhale deep as we leave the airport. It feels like I’m leaving part of me behind – a leg, an arm. My whole heart.”

This was a YA contemporary story about a girl newly arrived in America from Haiti.

Fabiola was an okay character, and I felt sorry for her the way her mother was detained by customs and she was left to start her life in America without her.

The storyline in this was about Fabiola starting her new life in America with her cousins, and learning more about what their lives were really like, and where their money came from. I don’t want to say too much, but Fabiola never stopped fighting for her mother to be released into the states, and did everything she could to make that happen. I did find that the story didn’t hold my interest very well though.

The ending to this was okay, and there were realistic consequences for Fabiola’s actions.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment