Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2) by Sarah Prineas

Sponsored post: I was able to view a digital galley of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble, #2)
Blurb (from Goodreads):
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Discover the true story of Sleeping Beauty in Sarah Prineas’s bold YA fairy-tale retelling filled with thrilling adventure and romance, perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles and The Girl of Fire & Thorns trilogy.

After the spell protecting her is destroyed, Rose seeks safety in the world outside the valley she had called home. She’s been kept hidden all her life to delay the three curses she was born with—curses that will put her into her own fairy tale and a century-long slumber. Accompanied by the handsome and mysterious Watcher, Griff, and his witty and warmhearted partner, Quirk, Rose tries to escape from the ties that bind her to her story. But will the path they take lead them to freedom, or will it bring them straight into the fairy tale they are trying to avoid?

Set in the world of Sarah Prineas’s Ash & Bramble fifty years later, Rose & Thorn is a powerful retelling of the classic Sleeping Beauty tale where the characters fight to find their own Happy Ever After.


Rose & Thorn by Sarah Prineas

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars


Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble, #2) Once there was a girl who lived in a forest cottage.
Upon her wrist she bore a birthmark in the shape of a newly opening rose.
A ticking triple curse was cast at the moment of her birth, and her
Time is running out.”


This was a YA fantasy retelling of Sleeping Beauty.

Rose was an okay character if a little na├»ve. She could have very easily died in the forest just because she thought she could get through it when others had told her she couldn’t, and it was only magic that saved her.

The storyline in this was about Rose and her three curses, but I had the same problems with this book as I did with the first; I found the story quite strange, I got confused, and ultimately I felt quite bored too.

The ending to this was okay, and we did get a happy ending, I was just pleased that the book was finished though.



5 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment