Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Pushing Perfect by Michelle Falkoff

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Pushing Perfect
Blurb (from Goodreads):
A girl’s quest for perfection results in dangerous consequences in this layered, suspenseful YA novel by the author of Playlist for the Dead.

How far would you go to be perfect?

Kara has the perfect life. She gets perfect grades. She never messes up. Until now. Because perfection is an illusion, and Kara has been struggling to maintain it for as long as she can remember. With so much pressure to succeed, it’s hard not to do whatever it takes.

But when Kara takes a new underground drug to help her ace the SATs, she doesn’t expect to get a text from a blocked sender, telling her to follow a set of mysterious instructions—or risk her dark secret getting out. Soon she finds herself part of a group of teens with secrets of their own, who are all under the thumb of the same anonymous texter. And if they don’t find a way to stop the blackmailer, their perfect futures will go up in flames.

This dark, emotionally resonant contemporary YA novel is perfect for fans of We Were Liars and The Secret History.


Pushing Perfect by Michelle Falkoff

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Pushing Perfect “Want me to erase these?
I’ll need a favor. Or two.”


This was a contemporary story about a girl blackmailed after buying drugs illegally.

I felt quite sorry for Kara in this story, she was so intent on being perfect that she stopped talking to her two best friends rather than tell them that she had a skin problem, and the panic attacks made things hard for her too. She could have made things a lot easier on herself if she had just been a little less vain though.

The storyline in this was about Kara buying a study aid called Novalert illegally to help her relax during her SATs. Unfortunately though someone took a photograph of the transaction, and then tried to blackmail her by threatening to expose what she had done. I have to say that I lost interest when the blackmail started though, and I struggled to stay focused for the rest of the book. I will say that I didn’t guess who the blackmailer was though.

The ending to this was pretty unbelievable for me. I just couldn’t quite believe that things with the blackmailer were solved as easily as they were.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment