Tuesday, 11 October 2016

Be Good Be Real Be Crazy by Chelsey Philpot

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Be Good Be Real Be Crazy
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Three teenagers. One road trip. Countless detours. From the author of Even in Paradise comes a compelling story of self-discovery that is perfect for fans of Paper Towns and Mosquitoland.

When Mia first waltzed into Homer’s small corner of Florida, her bold approach to life changed Homer’s entire world. It wasn’t long before he was hopelessly in love.

Now Mia is moving away—and Homer and his younger brother, Einstein, are helping her drive hundreds of miles to her new home. This is Homer’s last chance to tell Mia how he really feels. And with so many detours in front of them, anything could happen.

In the tradition of Let's Get Lost and Amy & Roger's Epic Detour, Be Good Be Real Be Crazy is a story about love, friendship, and finding yourself.


Be Good Be Real Be Crazy by Chelsey Philpot

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Be Good Be Real Be Crazy “The closer they got to Glory-Be-by-the-Sea, the quieter Mia became.”


This was a YA contemporary road trip story.

I felt quite sorry for Mia in this, being pregnant and alone couldn’t have been easy for her, and I understood her wanting to go and live with her friend for when the baby came. Homer was quite a caring boy and it showed the sort of person he was that he wanted to help Mia, even if it meant losing her.

The storyline in this was about Homer driving Mia and his younger brother to the place where Mia was going to live with her friend, and taking his brother to some sort of science lecture on the way home. They met some odd characters along the way, and there was a bit of unrequited love between Mia and Homer, but the whole thing felt a little underwhelming really.

The ending to this was okay, although it wasn’t really a happily-ever-after type ending.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment