Friday, 22 July 2016

Yours Tonight (Reign #1) by Joya Ryan

Sponsored post: I received a finished paperback copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Little, Brown Book Group.
Yours Tonight
Blurb (from Goodreads):
For fans of J Lynn, Jodi Ellen Malpas and Sylvia Day comes the Reign trilogy, an all-consuming, raw and powerful love story . . .



He will give her everything she's ever wanted . . .


Jack Powell's confidence is matched only by his intensity. The darkness in him comes from years of secrets and memories he'd rather forget. Lana has an exotic innocence that draws him in and Jack wants a taste of her. She's a light in the darkness of his world - and she needs help, which he agrees to give her.


The only rule? He makes the rules.


Lana gives up her control, letting Jack take her body however he needs, while she works her way into his heart. But Jack's past catches up to them and Lana finds herself wrapped up in a scheme that will expose every secret she's worked so hard to keep. She clung to Jack once when her world was crashing down, but this time, she loves him. She'll continue to reach for him - her only fear is if he'll reach back, or go on his way, taking her soul with him . . .


Addictive and unforgettable, Lana's story will seduce, surprise and stay with you. A brand new trilogy by the #1 Bestselling author of Break Me Slowly, the Reign series is an emotional rollercoaster you'll want to keep riding forever.

  Yours Tonight by Joya Ryan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Yours Tonight “It was obvious this man was all things alpha and in control. And prey or not, I was caught. And I liked it.”


This was an adult contemporary romance, featuring a girl who had been raped at 13.

Lana was a strong character, and had the sense to get out of a situation if she was feeling uncomfortable. I felt quite sorry for her and what she had been through, and I really, really disliked Brock.

The storyline in this was about Lana meeting a man called Jack, and starting up a romance with him, whilst still being hounded by her step-brother and rapist Brock. We also got some steamy sex scenes, and a hint of a love triangle.

The ending to this wasn’t really of the happily ever after variety, but that was kind-of expected by the tag line of ‘not every love story is meant to last’.



6.5 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment