Saturday, 4 June 2016

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Hachette Children's Group and NetGalley.
Love and Other Man-Made Disasters
Blurb (from Goodreads):
A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins.

Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies - the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum's adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn't hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he's everything Juno doesn't like. Or is he? Juno's about to discover there's nothing more scary than falling in love.


Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Love and Other Man-Made Disasters “I wish I was, literally, anywhere but here.”




This was a YA contemporary romance story, about a girl who worried about everything.

Juno was an okay character, and I could see why she would worry about things like zombie apocalypses, and planes crashing. She did step out of her comfort zone and attempt skiing though, which was pretty brave of her.

The storyline in this was about Juno going skiing with her mother, step-father, and step-brothers, and meeting a boy called ‘Boy’ (we never find out his real name), and we got a bit of romance happening between them which was quite sweet. We did get a bit of a twist also, which made things a bit more interesting, and Juno really did go out of her way to be there for Boy when he needed her.

The ending to this was okay, and we did get a happily ever after.



6.25 out of 10

1 comment:

  1. The description and the cover really has me interested.

    Great review :)
    Aparajita @Le' Grande Codex

    ReplyDelete