Wednesday, 15 June 2016

Autofocus by Lauren Gibaldi

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Autofocus
Blurb (from Goodreads):
From the author of The Night We Said Yes comes a fun and heartfelt YA contemporary tale. When Maude decides to search for information about her birth mother, she finds out more than she expected. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Susane Colasanti.

Family. It’s always been a loaded word for Maude, whose birth mother died after giving her up for adoption. With her best friend, Treena, in college in the same town where her birth mother grew up, Maude decides to visit and explore her past. But when Maude arrives, she quickly discovers that Treena doesn’t seem to have time for her—or for helping with her search. Enter Bennett, a cute guy who lives in Treena’s dorm. He understands Maude’s need to find her mother. And as Bennett helps Maude, she starts to realize that her mother’s past doesn’t have to define her own future.


Autofocus by Lauren Gibaldi

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Autofocus “Maybe I can go up there and find something on her, my birth mother.”


This was a YA contemporary story about a girl who was adopted.

Maude was a determined girl, and she was a good friend to Treena. I understood that she wanted to find out more about her mother, even though she didn’t have the best of leads.

The storyline in this was about Maude trying to find out more about her mother, and spending some time with her best friend Treena. We also got a bit of conflict with Treena’s new boyfriend, and a bit of romance with another boy who went to college with Treena.

The ending to this was okay, and I was pleased that Maude got what she wanted.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment