Tuesday, 28 June 2016

A Season for Fireflies by Rebecca Maizel

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
A Season for Fireflies
Blurb (from Goodreads):
A story of second chances from the author of Between Us and the Moon, which Kirkus Reviews called “what first love is meant to be.”

A year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school’s theater department, surrounded by a group of misfit friends and falling in love for the first time. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, her new best friend is the most popular girl in school, and her first love, Wes, ignores her. Penny is revered and hated. Then, in a flash, a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year—or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee.

As a record number of fireflies light up her town and her life, Penny realizes she may be able to make things right again—and that even if she can’t change the past, she can learn to see the magic where she never could before.

This captivating new novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory is perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and Katie Cotugno’s How to Love.


A Season for Fireflies by Rebecca Maizel

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


A Season for Fireflies “You’re in Providence Memorial. You were struck by lightning two days ago.”




This was a YA contemporary story about a girl hit by lightning.

Penny was confused in this book, which was understandable considering she’d been hit by lightning and couldn’t remember nearly 17 months of her life.

“I feel like a stranger in my own life.”


The storyline in this seemed to take a while to get going as we started with Penny with her original friends, then her new friends, and then her accident which left her with her dodgy memory. I did feel sorry for Penny when she realised that her friend weren’t her friends any more, but I also felt sorry for her new friends, who she seemed to just drop!

“I lost my best friend, Penny!”


The ending to this was okay, and things did seem to work out fairly happily. This book was just missing something for me though.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment