Tuesday, 3 May 2016

Ask Me How I Got Here by Christine Heppermann

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Ask Me How I Got Here
Blurb (from Goodreads):
From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. This thought-provoking and sophisticated read further confirms Christine Heppermann as an important voice in the tradition of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson, and A. S. King.

Addie has always known what she was running toward. In cross-country, in life, in love. Until she and her boyfriend—her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend—are careless one night and she ends up pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that—even though she knows it was the right decision for her—nothing is the same anymore. She doesn’t want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn’t want to run cross-country; she can’t bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who’s going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free-verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit. Like Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins, Christine Heppermann is a voice to turn to for the truth of difficult subjects. Ask Me How I Got Here is a literary exploration of sexuality, religion, and self-discovery.


Ask Me How I Got Here by Christine Heppermann

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars



Ask Me How I Got Here "Tonight
I
will
tell
my parents
tonight.
Or maybe tomorrow."




This was an enjoyable story about a girl who fell unexpectedly pregnant, and her life as she dealt with the consequences.

I felt quite sorry for Addie, especially when she had to tell her parents that she was pregnant, because it really was a terrible situation to find herself in.

The storyline in this was about Addie falling pregnant, and then what she did next, with lots of thoughts and feelings about her situation, and the way her life changed because of her choice of how to get through it. I liked the way that the story was told in verse, and the pace felt about right.

The ending to this was pretty good, although I didn’t feel like everything was 100% tied up.



7 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment