Wednesday, 16 March 2016

A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
A Drop of Night
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

You cannot escape the palace.

You cannot guess its secrets.


A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



A Drop of Night “And a man is standing in the corner. Bleeding. Watching us.”



This was a YA thriller/mystery story about 5 teens lured to an underground palace, who then find themselves trapped in a sinister way.

I did like Anouk as a character, and she did come out with some funny lines, but she was also a bit prickly at times, and it took time to really understand her. I did start to get where she was coming from a bit more when the truth behind her home situation was revealed.

The storyline in this was part mystery, part thriller, part horror, part fantasy all mashed up together, and I did appreciate the minor-creepiness when we got it, and the perceived threat, even if the fantasy aspect didn’t really do it for me. This was quite a difficult one to guess what was happening though, and it reminded me a bit of the film ‘The Cube’ with the booby-trapped rooms. The pace was a little slow for me though, and I didn’t enjoy this one as much as I expected to.

The ending to this was okay, and things did end reasonably happily, there was just something that stopped me from loving this one though.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment