Wednesday, 27 January 2016

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Shallow Graves
Blurb (from Goodreads):
For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace


Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



Shallow Graves “It was an accident, the first time I killed. It was an instinct I didn’t know I had. I never made a choice.
The second time was on purpose.”




This book started out okay, but I lost interest.

Breezy was an okay character, and it must have been awful for her to wake up buried under the earth in a shallow grave. I also understood her worries over what she was and where she would go, but I wanted more from her.

The storyline in this was about Breezy learning to use her new skill for killing murderers, and getting herself into some bad situations, I just lost interest though, and even though we did get some action, I just couldn’t get back into the story.

The ending to this was not great for me either, as I didn’t feel like much was really solved by the end of the story. It looks like I’m definitely in the minority with this viewpoint, but this just wasn’t for me, which was a shame as I was looking forward to it.



6 out of 10

1 comment:

  1. Sorry you lost interest. I really enjoyed this one. I do think the characters needed a bit more depth. The author could accomplish this by writing another book and making it a series, but I haven't heard it will go that way. Nice review!

    ReplyDelete