Friday, 13 November 2015

Pretty Thing by Jennifer Nadel

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Little Brown Book Group.
Pretty Thing
Blurb (From Goodreads):
A stunning coming-of-age debut full of love and danger, secrets and lies: this is a dark, tense, hard-hitting novel about two girls forced to grow up fast…

When fifteen-year-old Becs meets Bracken, she is convinced she’s found her soul mate. So what if he’s much older? He understands her, she feels free with him and when he holds her she feels safe.

But is she?

Some young women in the local area have recently been sexually assaulted. It’s the talk of the school. And when Bec’s best friend Mary-Jane becomes the latest victim, the true dangers hit home: just as Becs is starting to wonder about her future with Bracken – poor M-J rapidly shrinks away from life. . .

Set during the sweltering hot summer of 1976, Pretty Thing is a powerful coming-of-age novel, a story of first encounters, dark obsession, broken trust and last chances – perfect for readers of Meg Rosoff, Lauren Oliver and Annabel Pitcher. It pits true love against real life and ask: is love all you really need?


Pretty Thing by Jennifer Nadel

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars



Pretty Thing “I didn’t like lying, but I had to.”



This was a good coming of age story, although I was so worried for Becs!

Rebecca/Becs just seemed like such a normal girl, and it felt realistic how she was quite innocent and believed in finding love down the pub!

The storyline in this was mainly about Rebecca’s relationship with the man she met down the pub – Bracken, who as it turned out was much older than her! I have to say that I got really worried about the way that he told her not to worry about falling pregnant, and seemed to have no qualms about sleeping with a girl half his age.

The ending to this was so much better for Rebecca than I hoped, she was really lucky that things worked out the way they did, because things could have been so, so much worse for her!



7 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment