Monday, 12 October 2015

Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Rules for Stealing Stars
Blurb (from Goodreads):
In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope.

Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's unpredictable moods and outbursts. This summer, Silly feels more alone than ever when her sisters keep whispering and sneaking away to their rooms together, returning with signs that something mysterious is afoot: sporting sunburned cheeks smudged with glitter and gold hair that looks like tinsel.

When Silly is brought into her sisters' world, the truth is more exciting than she ever imagined. The sisters have discovered a magical place that gives them what they truly need: an escape from the complications of their home life. But there are dark truths there, too. Silly hopes the magic will be the secret to saving their family, but she's soon forced to wonder if it could tear them apart.


Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Rules for Stealing Stars “I shouldn’t be lonely when I have three sisters,”



This was a good middle-grade/YA story about 4 sisters and magic closets!

Silly was the youngest of 4, and her sisters always acted like she was a baby compared to them, and needed to be protected, even when she was only 3 years younger than her oldest sisters. I felt quite sorry for her in that her nickname was ‘Silly’ and her sisters tried to not include her in their secrets about the magic wardrobes.

The storyline in this was pretty good, and I liked the different things that the different closets did! I felt really sorry for Silly’s middle-sister Marla when it seemed like her mother was ignoring her, and I really liked the mystery over what had happened to the girls’ aunt, and whether or not one of the wardrobes was evil. I also liked the fairy-tale aspect of the story.

The ending to this was pretty good, and I was glad that things worked out with the 4 sisters and the evil closet!



7.5 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment