Saturday, 24 October 2015

A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
A Madness So Discreet
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.

When Grace Mae is sent to the insane asylum because of the bulge in her belly, she already knows about madness and family secrets. It is in the darkness that she may find a new lease on life when a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind hiding beneath the fear and anger. Although the doctor insists that for Grace's safety she must continue to play insane while assisting him at crime scenes, she finds hope in a different, ethical asylum. But the gruesome nights when Grace and the doctor investigate a killer targeting young women bring Grace's shaky sanity, and the demons of her own past, dangerously close to the surface.


A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



A Madness So Discreet “They all had their terrors.”



This was an okay story, but it struggled to hold my attention.

I felt quite sorry for Grace at the start of this book, she’d been through a lot, was pregnant, and incarcerated in an insane asylum, and things were really not going well for her at all. As the book progressed I didn’t like her all that much though. She made some hasty and risky decisions, and didn’t always think things through properly.

The storyline in this went from Grace being in an insane asylum to playing some sort of detective role, and I really struggled to keep reading this book. This was one of those books where I would read a chapter, and be thankful that I had 1 less chapter to go!

The ending to this was okay, but I was just glad to be finished really.



6 out of 10

1 comment:

  1. Oh wow this is radically different than all the positive reviews i have read of this book. Thanks for this honest review.

    Aparajita @Le' Grande Codex

    ReplyDelete