Thursday, 10 September 2015

Exit Stage Left by Gail Nall

Sponsored post:I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Exit Stage Left
Blurb (from Goodreads):
In this funny and sweet digital-original novel perfect for fans of Fame, Casey works to find a new passion after her dreams of becoming a Broadway star are ruined.

Casey Fitzgerald has always been an actress. She's known it was her destiny ever since she snagged the role of "apple" in her kindergarten's production of The Food Pyramid. But when she doesn't get the lead in her performing arts high school's production of The Sound of Music, she begins to question everything. Not getting the lead means no recommendations, and no recommendations means she can kiss good-bye any chance of getting a scholarship to the prestigious New York College of Performing Arts.

After some soul searching and some wise words from her friend Harrison, Casey decides to totally reinvent herself. She's already ditched her on-again off-again boyfriend Trevor and is interested in the new boy at school, so why not start fresh with everything? But every new destiny she tries doesn't seem quite right. And when her best friend, Amanda, who did get the lead, starts hanging out with Trevor, Casey's not sure if she'll ever be able to leave the drama behind.


Exit Stage Left by Gail Nall

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Exit Stage Left

“I, Casey Fitzgerald, am apparently good at nothing except coming up with the perfect outfit for every occasion, landing second-rate roles in musicals, winning Trevor back, and making other guys need a Valium-induced slumber in my presence.”



This was a story about a girl who loved the theatre, but wasn’t happy when she wasn’t the leading lady.

Casey was just annoying in this story, she was selfish, self-centred, and generally cared about nobody but herself. She was horrible to her best friend, and even wanted her ex-boyfriend back just so someone else couldn’t have him! I mean really?!

The storyline in this was basically Casey moaning because she hadn’t gotten the lead in the play she was taking part in, and generally trying to find some other way to be in the spotlight, because if she wasn’t the lead in the play, then obviously she needed to find something that she was better at!

There was some romance in here, in the form of Casey trying to get her ex-boyfriend back, even though she clearly didn’t want to be with him, just so that a certain other person couldn’t have him! Nice work there Casey. Not.

The ending to this was okay, but to be honest I was just glad to see the back of Casey.



6 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment