Wednesday, 1 July 2015

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Between Us and the Moon
Blurb (from Goodreads):
A luminous young adult novel that evokes Judy Blume’s Forever for a new generation.

Ever since Sarah was born, she’s lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. But this summer on Cape Cod, she’s determined to finally grow up. Then she meets gorgeous college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl who’s older than she is. A girl like Scarlett.

Before she knows what’s happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this story about how life and love are impossible to predict.


Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars


Between Us and the Moon(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

“You watch the world. I’m not even sure you live in it.”



This was a touching YA romance, and I felt really sorry for Sarah.

I liked Sarah in this story, and I felt really sorry for her in the way her best friend/boyfriend dumped her totally out of the blue. I knew her lying to Andrew was a bad idea, but it was also easy to see why she did it, especially living in the shadow of her sister Scarlett the way she did.

“There has to be a direct correlation between Scarlett’s specific behaviour and style to the response of acceptance and popularity. If I figure this out, maybe I’ll get Tucker to see who I am – that I’m not ‘watching the world.’”



The storyline in this was about Sarah finding who she was after Tucker dumped her, and finding new love with Andrew. There was also some stargazing stuff in here, but it didn’t really interest me.

“The Scarlett Experiment.
I want to start the Scarlett Experiment now.”




Andrew and Sarah were pretty cute together, and it was sad that Sarah’s lie would at some point come between them. (Note – there are some sexual scenes in this book.)

“He breaks into the smallest smile.
And it’s a smile just for me.”




The ending to this was okay, but because it wasn’t the ‘happily-ever-after’ that I wanted, it left me wanting more!



7 out of 10.

No comments:

Post a Comment