Monday, 6 July 2015

Ashes to Ashes (Ashes #1) by Melissa C. Walker

Ashes to Ashes (Ashes, #1)
Blurb (from Goodreads):
If I Stay meets the movie Ghost in this first book in a teen duology about a teenage-girl-turned-ghost who must cling to the echoes of her former life to save the people she left behind.

Ashes to Ashes is author Melissa Walker's sweeping, romantic, and emotionally rich story about the things that torment and tempt us, even from the Great Beyond. This book is perfect for fans of Die for Me and Imaginary Girls, and its breathtaking ending will leave readers anxiously awaiting the series conclusion, Dust to Dust.

When Callie's life is cut short by a tragic accident, she expects to find nothingness, or maybe some version of heaven.

Instead, her spirit travels to the Prism, an ethereal plane populated by the ghosts she thought were fictional. Here she meets a striking and mysterious ghost named Thatcher, who is meant to guide her as she learns to haunt and bring peace to the loved ones she left behind.

However, Callie uncovers a dark secret about the spirit world: The angry souls who always populate ghost stories are real, dangerous, and willing to do whatever it takes to stay on Earth, threatening the existence of everyone she ever cared about.

As she fights to save them, Callie will learn that while it may no longer beat, her heart can still love-and break.


Ashes to Ashes by Melissa C. Walker

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Ashes to Ashes (Ashes, #1) “Thatcher opens his mouth, but I turn away before he can say another word, because I see the truth in his eyes. I’m dead.”



This was an okay YA paranormal story, but I did find the pace a little slow.

I did feel sorry for Callie, dying unexpectedly as a teenager must have been awful for her, but at the same time, she was such an idiot for driving so recklessly the way she did. Having a new car is not a license to drive at 90 miles per hour whilst talking on your mobile phone.

“My head crashes into the driver’s side window and the windshield explodes, showering me with sharp glass. The whole world darkens; my body goes limp.
And then I’m gone.”




The storyline in this followed Callie as she began to haunt her family and friends, trying to help them find peace and to move on after her death. I did wonder what the heck it was that her boyfriend had been keeping from her, and it seemed to take a really long time to find out! The pace in this was quite slow, and I did get a little impatient at times.

“Guess how fast I’m going,”



There was some romance, but to be honest I wasn’t really sure what Callie saw in Thatcher as her feelings for him seemed to come out of nowhere.

“Nick was the love of my life. Thatcher is the… I don’t think I’m ready to admit that he’s the love of my death,”



The ending to this did have a twist, but it was pretty easy to guess what it was.
6 out of 10

1 comment: