Tuesday, 28 July 2015

A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Egmont USA, and NetGalley.

Blurb (from Goodreads):
A teen Sliding Doors. One choice creates parallel dual narratives in this romantic contemporary mystery-thriller perfect for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point. One Night. Two Paths. Infinite Danger. On the night of the big Spring Break party, Hadley "borrows" her boyfriend Ben's car without telling him. As payback, he posts a naked picture of her online for the entire senior class to see. Now Hadley has a choice: go back to the party and force Ben to delete the picture or raise the stakes and take his beloved car on a road trip as far away from their hometown of Oak Grove, Ohio, as she can get. Chapters alternate to reveal each possible future as Hadley, her ex-boyfriend, Josh, and her best friends embark on a night of reckless adventure where old feelings are rekindled, friendships are tested, and secrets are uncovered that are so much worse than a scandalous photo. Like a teen Sliding Doors, A Million Times Goodnight is a fast-paced romantic contemporary thriller for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point.

A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


A Million Times Goodnight(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Egmont USA, and NetGalley.)

“We’re with you, Hadley,” Mia said. “No matter what.”



This was an okay story, but I found it confusing and slow.

Hadley came across as quite determined in this story, but she also did some really stupid things. Stealing your boyfriend’s car is never a good idea, no matter how many naked pictures of you he’s posted on facebook.

“You are going to get in my car and drive it back to Oak Grove. You hear me?”



The storyline in this was a bit jumpy. We kept getting chapters where Hadley was driving to Florida with Josh, interspersed with chapters where Hadley was still at home in Ohio, and it wasn’t possible for both of those scenarios to be true, which left me wondering what the heck was going on! I also really wanted to know what had happened to Penny, and the events that led to her death, but the pace just seemed too slow, and the answers weren’t coming anytime fast!

“No one in this town will ever forgive you, Josh Lane. You killed her. What else do you expect?”



There was a little bit of romance in this, but not a lot, and I have to say that I much preferred Josh to Ben.

“You let a murderer get into my car, Hadley.”

The ending to this was okay, and it did answer the question of which of the two stories we’d been reading was right, I can’t say I was overly impressed by the explanation though.
6 out of 10


No comments:

Post a Comment