Tuesday, 16 June 2015

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.

Blurb (from Goodreads):
A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti! Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life. But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan. And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of. Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future. In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


The Night We Said Yes(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

“What do you want to do?”
“How about… a night of saying yes.”


free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

This was an okay YA contemporary romance, but it didn’t hold my attention well.

I didn’t really love the characters in this, they irritated me a bit, and I wouldn’t have wanted to be on a night out with them to be honest. I’d have been catching a bus home and spending the night with my kindle instead.

“Whenever Meg and I have a big night, we make a bracelet to remember the moment. So, each one represents a different experience.”



The storyline in this was about 2 separate nights – the night that Ella and Matt first met, and the night they met again, one year later, in the present, after Matt left Ella without explanation. The whole ‘the night we said yes’ was based on the night they originally met, when they played a game, where if someone asked you to do something, the idea was that you had to say ‘yes’.

Anyway, Matt and Ella met and had a relationship, and he then left without explanation. Matt and Ella then met again, and had to decide whether it was worth getting back together or not, and to be honest I didn’t really care all that much. Their night out was fairly dull, and the night they met was fairly dull too.

“Because it is him. Here. Standing in front of me. Looking like he never left. Looking like this is any other night and he’s stopping by to say hi.”



The ending to this was happy, so we did get that at least, but I didn’t really love the story. There wasn’t anything horribly wrong with it, it just didn’t interest me. And what the heck is a ‘bounce house’?
6 out of 10


No comments:

Post a Comment