Wednesday, 13 May 2015

Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.

Blurb (from Goodreads):
Montana and her sister, Arizona, are named after the mountainous states their mother left them for. But Montana is a New York City girl through and through, and as the city heats up, she’s stepping into the most intense summer of her life. Her father is distracted by yet another divorce, and she’s growing apart from her sister. Then she meets wild, bold Karissa, who encourages Montana to live in technicolor and chase new experiences. But the more of her own secrets Karissa reveals, the more Montana has to wonder if Karissa’s someone she can really trust. In the midst of her uncertainty, Montana finds a beautiful distraction in Bernardo. He’s serious and spontaneous, and he looks at Montana in the way she wants to be seen. For the first time, Montana understands how you can become both lost and found in somebody else. But when that love becomes everything, where does it leave the rest of her imperfect life? Corey Ann Haydu's third novel is a raw, romantic coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Jenny Han.

Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars



Making Pretty(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

“I don’t remember how I got here, but I remember enough of the night to know Dad has a new girlfriend and Arizona has a new boy and Roxanne has a new life and I only really have Karissa to keep me sane and happy.”



This story started out okay, but I lost interest.

Montana seemed to be a girl who felt quite lost. She’d been let down by her mother when she left them, let down by her sister who went away to college, didn’t speak to her for a month, and seemed to come back looking and acting like a totally different person, and let down by her best friend also.

“I hate that the word sister has this shifting, changeable definition that doesn’t mean two people who share a room and a brain and a speech pattern and a body type anymore.”



The storyline in this book seemed to be about Montana, and her sister, family and friends. I found Karissa (the new best friend) to be quite an odd girl, and I really was surprised by what she was getting up to behind Montana’s back. Montana seemed to be clinging to the idea of a new best friend, as something to hold onto, when everything else in her life was changing, which made Karissa’s then shocking revelation all the more upsetting for her.

“You and me against everything that has sucked in our lives. Two sad girls together. Can we toast to two sad girls?”



Montana’s sister Arizona seemed to have changed too, and it seemed very strange the way she had changed quite so drastically, when previously Montana had believed they so similar they were almost the same person.

“I got my boobs done in April. I didn’t want to tell you over the phone because I thought it would sound like I got porn-star boobs or something, but I wanted you to see it’s like a teeny-tiny upgrade.”



Montana’s father was quite possibly the strangest of all though. Who gives their 13-year-old daughter a gift certificate for plastic surgery? I mean really? Talk about making your daughter feel like there’s something wrong with her?! And the wives? He seemed to have been married and divorced 4 times since Montana’s mother left, and was then moving on to another girl!

“He actually said Tess’s name?” I say. It’s not the point, but he never says the wives’ names after they’re gone. Like if we don’t speak of them they never existed.



The ending to this was okay, although I didn’t really feel like much had been resolved, and I also felt like Montana was still clinging to someone just for the sake of feeling loved. It seemed like she was still behaving exactly the same way as she had at the start of the book, and maybe even doing exactly what her father was doing, and possibly making a huge mistake too. I almost feel like I needed an epilogue to find out if things would really work out for her or not.
5 out of 10


No comments:

Post a Comment