Wednesday, 22 April 2015

Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Every Last Promise
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate's sexual assault.

Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to. But she hasn't told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night--about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer.

Now Kayla's coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything--and everyone--she ever cared about.


Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook

My rating: 3.25 of 5 stars


Every Last Promise(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

This was an interesting mystery story, and I really wanted to know what had been going on!

Kayla was an okay character, but she really was a bit of a coward. She ran away and told people that she didn’t remember what had happened, when really she should have been standing up, telling the truth, and helping out a friend who really needed her. I know she was scared that people wouldn’t believe her, but with the evidence she had, and in the interests of being a good friend, she really needed the guts to do the right thing.

This story was told from Kayla’s point of view from the spring when whatever happened happened, and then from the fall after what had happened. There was both a mystery over who had died, as well as the mystery surrounding the events that had led up to the event, although the blurb totally ruins one of those mysteries! Such a spoiler-filled blurb!
There was a little hint of romance in this book but not a lot, the story was more focused on the mystery aspect than the romance.

The ending to this was good, and I liked that we finally found out what had happened; I hated how long it took for it to happen though, and I generally thought that Kayla and her friends were just generally quite selfish, and not very nice people.
6.5 out of 10


No comments:

Post a Comment