Saturday, 25 April 2015

Endangered by Lamar Giles

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.

Blurb (from Goodreads):
Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga's I Hunt Killers. The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. Unless Lauren "Panda" Daniels—an anonymous photoblogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer's little game of Dare or . . . Dare. But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn't know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer's hit list.

Endangered by Lamar Giles

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars



Endangered(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

“How do you get the color Gray? Throw a Panda in the blender and turn it on.”



There was nothing wrong with this story, I just didn’t really enjoy it, and the above quote is pretty gross.

I liked ‘Panda’ and I thought that her heart was in the right place. While what she was doing was wrong to a point, she was doing it for the right reasons, and I appreciated that she was exposing people to make up for their wrong doings rather than to bully them. I think she should have known that posting photos of a girl having sex with her coach would have consequences though.

“Oh. My. God.
I recognize him. Anyone who goes to Portside High would.
He’s been teaching there for years.”




The storyline in this book was okay – Panda taking photos of people, things going wrong, Panda becoming the one threatened, but for some reason I just didn’t enjoy it. I lost interest quite early on, and even though this book wasn’t long, it certainly felt it. The conversations between Panda and the person blackmailing her seemed to drag, and even though things were happening, I just couldn’t get excited about it.

“How do you like MY work? I call the piece I sent you Dante. Get it?”



The ending to this was okay, and I didn’t guess who the blackmailer was. I really wish I could have liked this story more, but I think this was just a case of wrong-person, wrong book for me.
5 out of 10


No comments:

Post a Comment