Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Little Peach by Peggy Kern

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Little Peach
Blurb (from Goodreads):
In the tradition of Patricia McCormick and Ellen Hopkins comes this powerful novel, the riveting story of a runaway who is lured into prostitution by a manipulative pimp.


What do you do if you're in trouble?

When Michelle runs away from her drug-addicted mother, she has just enough money to make it to New York City, where she hopes to move in with a friend. But once she arrives at the bustling Port Authority, she is confronted with the terrifying truth: she is alone and out of options.

Then she meets Devon, a good-looking, well-dressed guy who emerges from the crowd armed with a kind smile, a place for her to stay, and eyes that seem to understand exactly how she feels.

But Devon is not what he seems to be, and soon Michelle finds herself engulfed in the world of child prostitution where he becomes her “Daddy” and she his “Little Peach.” It is a world of impossible choices, where the line between love and abuse, captor and savior, is blurred beyond recognition.

This hauntingly vivid story illustrates the human spirit’s indomitable search for home, and one girl’s struggle to survive.



Little Peach by Peggy Kern

My rating: 3.12 of 5 stars


Little Peach(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

This was an emotional story about a girl involved in prostitution, and I felt really sorry for her.

Michelle ‘Peach’ was an unfortunate girl, the way her mother treated her was disgusting, and the way she was tricked into becoming a prostitute at just 14 was also disgusting. All she wanted was for someone to care about her, and that wasn’t what she got at all.

The storyline in this was interesting in the way it was based on what really goes on in the world today, and it really is horrific to think of young girls being treated this way, and how they have no option but to do what they are forced to do just for basic survival.

The ending to this was as happy as it could be in such a realistic story, and I can only hope that other girls who are living the way ‘Peach’ was will also find a way to get help.
Overall; realistic story about prostitution of young girls,
6.25 out of 10.


No comments:

Post a Comment