Saturday, 7 February 2015

Transcendent (Starling #3) by Lesley Livingston

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Blurb (from Goodreads):
 LOVE CONQUERS On a storm-swept terrace high above the streets of Manhattan, Mason Starling holds the fate of the world in her hands as her beloved Fennrys lies bleeding at her feet, his life hanging in the balance. The ancient Norse prophecy of Ragnarok stands poised on the knife edge of fulfillment. Mason’s transformation into a Valkyrie—a chooser of the slain and the one who will ultimately bring about the end of the world—is complete. Still, she remains determined to thwart her father’s apocalyptic desires. Whatever is to come, it won’t happen because of what the prophecy foretold, or what Gunnar Starling has planned, or what the fates have already decided. What happens next will be up to Mason and the Fennrys Wolf. The world had better hope they haven’t reached the limits of what their souls and swords can survive. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, and set in the same universe as Lesley Livingston’s much-loved WONDROUS STRANGE trilogy, with roots in Greek, Roman, Norse, Egyptian, and Celtic myths and legends, this thrilling conclusion to the acclaimed Starling trilogy is filled to the hilt with sweeping adventure and soaring romance.

Transcendent by Lesley Livingston

My rating: 3.75 of 5 stars


Transcendent (Starling, #3)(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

“Prophecies don’t always come true. And even when they do, it’s usually in all the ways you never expected they would.”



This was a good end to the series, and I liked the action.

I liked the characters in this book; they stayed strong in the face of danger, and never stopped looking for a way to not only save themselves, but to save the world.

The death god’s eyes were black, hard, and glittering as obsidian. “In this case… the touch of the Odin spear transforms the chosen warrior into the third Odin son, whose prophesied destiny, according to the Norns, is to lead the Einherjar out of Valhalla, alongside your two brothers.”
“And when that happens?” she asked, knowing full well the answer.
“Ragnarok.”





The storyline in this was pretty good, although I have to admit to still getting a bit confused in places! I liked the action in this book though, and I liked the little twists we got, and the constant threat of death, dismemberment, and the end of the world!

“I promised an end. Not their end…” Mason pulled Fenrys toward her, looking up at him, until her nose almost touched his chin. “And one way or another Fennrys Wolf… we will end this.”



There was a bit of romance in this, and it was actually pretty nice. I liked how Mason and Fennrys admitted the way they felt about each other, and how they stuck together no matter what.

“I will tear the world apart to keep us together,” he said.
“I’m afraid that’s what they want,” she whispered.




The ending to this was good, and I liked the way things all worked out in the end! I particularly liked the action, and the way it wasn’t obvious how things would be solved until the very end.

“What do you think we’re fighting for here? Frail, flawed, ridiculous humanity. And all the crap and pain and sorrow that goes with it.”



7.25 out of 10


No comments:

Post a Comment