Wednesday, 25 February 2015

No Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
No Parking at the End Times
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Abigail’s parents have made mistake after mistake, and now they've lost everything. She’s left to decide: Does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail doesn't know how her dad found Brother John. Maybe it was the billboards. Or the radio. What she does know is that he never should have made that first donation. Or the next, or the next. Her parents shouldn't have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there with Brother John for the "end of the world." Because of course the end didn't come. And now they're living in their van. And Aaron’s disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right. But maybe it’s too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss’s thoughtful, literary debut novel is about losing everything—and about what you will do for the people you love.



No Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars


No Parking at the End Times(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

This was a thought-provoking story about the way some people use people’s faith against them for their own gain.

I liked Abigail and Aaron and I felt so sorry for them. The way their father had taken everything from them, and still wanted to take more was so frustrating for them. In my opinion they did well to put up with their parent’s eccentricities for as long as they did considering the situation.

The storyline in this was pretty good, and really made me feel anger at the way these kids were being used, and the way this ‘Brother John’ just took and took and took. How he could take everything from people by abusing their faith was just shocking!

The ending to this was good, and I felt satisfied with the way things turned out. Abigail and Aaron went through so much that they deserved a chance to get away from Brother John, even if they had to lose everything to get it.
Overall; thought-provoking story,
7 out of 10.


No comments:

Post a Comment