Sunday, 28 December 2014

Guess Who's Coming to Christmas Dinner by Laura Lockington


Guess Who's Coming to Christmas Dinner
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Last Christmas had been a disaster for Sophie and her daughter Bella. On Christmas morning Sophie discovered a present, which turned out to be for her husband Archie's mistress Bertha.

Sophie was determined that this year was going to be different. If only she could shake this cold and it would stop snowing.

With Bella still away at her Dad's, Susi, her lively best friend, persuades Sophie to host a party on Christmas Eve. With a menu consisting of simply 'Booze and nibbles' what could possibly go wrong?

Sophie is about to find out.

Susi is playing seasonal match-maker under the mistletoe before Christmas? And the suitors are queuing up...

But with the weather getting worse by the minute, will anyone be able to make it to the party, or even to Christmas Dinner?

Will Archie be able to drive Bella home through all this snow? And will he be coming with Bertha or coming alone? Will Sophie find love and happiness in time for Christmas?

Just who will make it to this Christmas dinner, or what will happen when they get there, is anyone's guess.

'Party Favourites' is a story of family, love and romance. It is perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Hale, Katie Fforde and Abby Clements. It was previously published as 'Guess Who's Coming to Christmas Dinner'.

'A perfect holiday treat.' - Holly Kinsella, best-selling author of 'Uptown Girl'.

When she's not in the kitchen or mentally cataloguing the contents of her cupboards, Laura Lockington is a writer and playwright. Random House published her first two books, 'Stargazy Pie' and 'Capers in the Sauce'. She has also co-written several plays for BBC Radio 4, including a comedy set in a beach hut. She shares her flat with a Frenchman, a wire haired fox terrier and a greedy fridge that demands feeding with monotonous regularity.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.


Guess Who's Coming to Christmas Dinner by Laura Lockington

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Guess Who's Coming to Christmas DinnerI decided to read this after enjoying ‘Stargazy Pie’ by the same author a few years ago. This wasn’t very good though, the story was weird and rambling, mystery was only okay, and the whole thing just dragged. I didn’t really appreciate the ‘turkey-free Christmas’ recipes at the end of the book either.



No comments:

Post a Comment