Tuesday, 28 October 2014

Get Happy by Mary Amato

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to EgmontUSA and Edelweiss.
Get Happy
Blurb (from Goodreads):
In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with.

A hip high school girl who loves music, writes songs, and is desperate for a ukelele, learns to her shock that her father did not abandon her years ago and has been trying to keep in touch. She begins to investigate him, only to discover that he has a new life with a new family, including the perfect stepdaughter, a girl who Minerva despises.


Get Happy by Mary Amato

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Get Happy(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to EgmontUSA and Edelweiss.)
16-year-old Minerva wanted a ukulele for her birthday and instead got a hideous jumper. Because of this she decides to get a job working for ‘Get Happy’ a company that specialises in birthday parties for little kids, in order to buy her ukulele herself.
Will Minerva ever get her ukulele? Can she live with the mermaid costume? And what was so wrong with her that her father abandoned her when she was only 2?


This was a cute and funny story about a teenage girl’s life, and her absentee father.

Minerva was a great character. I loved the way she tried her best, even when things went wrong, and I loved how real and normal she was!

The storyline in this was pretty good, and I really enjoyed it. I loved how funny this book was! The fake-tan disaster, the mermaid costume, and loads of other little things were just laugh-out-loud funny, and I loved this little glimpse into Minerva’s life, even if I didn’t get her obsession with her Ukulele!
There wasn’t really much in the way of romance in this until the very, very, very end. Really, like the last line! But the book didn’t suffer because of this.
The ending to this story was a little heart-breaking, but it was good that things were finally out in the open for Minerva, and that she could finally move on with her life.
Overall; a cute and funny story,
7.5 out of 10.


1 comment: