Tuesday, 9 September 2014

Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Kiss of Broken Glass
Blurb (From Goodreads):
Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.


Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Kiss of Broken Glass(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)
15-year-old Kenna has been caught self-harming at school, and has been admitted to a psychiatric facility under ‘The Baker Act’ of Florida.
Why does Kenna cut? And can she learn to stop?


This was an interesting story, told in verse, about a girl struggling with addiction.

Kenna was a difficult person to really connect with as it was difficult to really understand the allure of cutting, no matter how many times she spoke of it. I did feel sorry for her in the way that she had come to begin cutting though, and the way her classmate had turned on her out of jealousy.

The storyline in this was interesting and I liked the detail. I had never considered that a pencil and eraser, or salt and ice could be used to self-harm, and the hiding of a razor blade behind a cell phone battery was also a new one. I liked how reasons for cutting were touched upon, and how peer pressure mattered so much in Kenna’s case.
I thought the ending to this was pretty good, even though it was also fairly open. I liked the way something as simple as a butterfly helped Kenna to learn to cope with what she was doing, and I liked how the ending was hopefully, even whilst admitting that relapse is a stage of recovery.
Overall; interesting addiction story, told in verse,
6.5 out of 10.


No comments:

Post a Comment