Sunday, 7 September 2014

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Illusions of Fate
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.


Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars



Illusions of Fate(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)
Jessamin is determined to become a teacher rather than submit to the arranged marriage her mother keeps trying to force her into, nobody said it would be easy though.
When Jessamin accidentally meets a man called Finn who seems to be able to charm everyone, she’s not herself charmed, which Finn finds intriguing.
There are sinister plots about though, and Jessamin soon finds herself the subject of one man’s evil aspirations.
Can Jessamin stop the plot to destroy the island she came from? And how far will Lord Downpike go to get what he wants?


This was an interesting fantasy story, with a regency sort of air.

Jessamin was quite a headstrong girl, and was even prepared to put up with harsh working conditions and little food to get where she wanted to go. I also loved the way she loved that bird of hers so much, even if the way they came together was anything but normal.
My favourite character in this book was Eleanor though, she was so fun, and found such innovative ways to spy on people in her quest for gossip!

The storyline in this was good, and blended fantasy with a historic feel. I must admit to getting quite confused as to what was going on at the start of this book, but the further in I got the more I managed to work out what was going on, and the more I got used to the little eccentricities of the story.
There was some romance, but I wanted it to be a bit more developed. The romance was in no way the main part of the story, but I would have liked there to have been a little more than there was.

The ending to this had a bit of a twist which I hadn’t seen coming, and I was for a moment worried that things weren’t going to end well. Fortunately though the heroes of the story prevailed, and we got a good and happy ending! Yay!
Overall; an interesting historical fantasy story,
7 out of 10.


1 comment:

  1. Great you liked it too.... Ya was worried about that twist at the ending before it all cleared up.

    great review :)

    and do check mine too here

    Aparajita @Le' Grande Codex

    ReplyDelete