Tuesday, 2 September 2014

Don't Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Don't Touch
Blurb (from Goodreads):
A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together…which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn't sure she's brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who's fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.

Includes back matter from the author.



Don't Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

My rating: 3.25 of 5 stars


Don't Touch(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)
15-year-old Caddie has problems with anxiety, panic attacks, and compulsive hand-washing, and her parent’s separation is just making things worse.
Starting at a new school Caddie isn’t sure how she’ll cope with her new rule – no touching; because if she touches someone, then her dad will never come home again.
Can Caddie maintain the ‘no-touching’ rule? And can she really play Ophelia in the school play whilst hiding her own issues?


This was an okay story, but I wanted it to be more about Caddie’s anxiety and OCD, and less about drama school.

Caddie was an okay character, and it was clear that she was having a tough time of things. Her parent’s separation was a major obstacle for her, and her obsessive hand washing, and no-touching rule showed how much she was affected. I did understand where she was coming from though, and those kinds of compulsive thoughts are a hard cycle to break.

The storyline in this was okay, but I got bored of all the stuff about the play. Drama has never been a subject that I’ve liked, and all the talk of drama school and the play just didn’t entertain me. I liked the bits about Caddie struggling to cope, but the play rehearsals and stuff just didn’t interest me.

There was some romance, and Caddie did seem to like Peter, it was difficult for her to really connect with other people because of the no-touching rule, so there wasn’t a great deal of romance in this one until the end.
The ending to this was okay, and I was glad that Caddie had begun to get a grip on her anxiety and obsessional thoughts.
Overall; okay story about a girl struggling with anxiety,
6.5 out of 10.


No comments:

Post a Comment