Friday, 15 August 2014

One Moment by Kristina McBride

One Moment
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Following on the heels of her "must read" debut novel (New York Times best-selling author Jay Asher) One Moment is perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman .

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below–dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

The latest novel from the author of The Tension of Opposites, One Moment is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you.



One Moment by Kristina McBride

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


One Moment(Source: I own a copy of this book.)
This was an okay story, but it was quite predictable.

Maggie was an okay character, although she did come off a little needy and weak when she couldn’t remember what had happened on the cliff. To be honest I didn’t really feel much sympathy for her, even when what had been going on was revealed, she just seemed a bit clueless, and easily led.

The storyline in this started off by giving me de-ja-vu, the beginning of this book was so much like another book that I read that it wasn’t funny. Then as the story progressed I just wanted to find out exactly what had happened and get the book over with. I thought the whole romance part of the storyline, which tied in with the mystery to be quite predictable, and I would have been surprised that Maggie hadn’t already figured it out had she not been quite so clueless.
The romance that then developed at the end was again pretty predictable, and once again showed Maggie to be pretty easily led.

The ending to this was a bit of a relief. I was pleased that the mystery element had been solved, but I didn’t really enjoy the rest of the book all that much.
Overall; okay, but predictable, and I didn’t really like the main character.
6 out of 10.


No comments:

Post a Comment