Tuesday, 10 June 2014

Wicked Games by Sean Olin

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Wicked Games
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Wicked Games is the first book in a sexy thriller series where passion, lies, and revenge collide-perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles and Sara Shepard.

To all the locals in the small beach town of Dream Point, Carter and Lilah seem like the perfect It Couple-but their relationship is about to brutally unravel before everyone's eyes.

Carter has always been a good guy, and while Lilah has a troubled past, she's been a loyal girlfriend for the last four years. When smart, sexy Jules enters the picture at a senior-year bash, Carter succumbs to temptation. And when Lilah catches wind of his betrayal, she decides that Jules needs to pay.

By the end of the summer, the line between right and wrong will be blurred beyond recognition. Blood will be shed. Nothing in Dream Point will ever be the same.

This juicy summer read will keep readers turning pages until the shocking, nail-biting finale.


Wicked Games by Sean Olin

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars


Wicked Games(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)
17-year-old Lilah and her boyfriend Carter have been together for 4 years, but since Lilah started suffering from depression and anxiety, things haven’t been right between them.
At a party at a friend’s house, Lilah gets spectacularly drunk, and dives from the top of a 3-story building into the swimming pool. While she goes home, what she doesn’t realise it that Carter meets Jules, and begins to fall in love with her.
When Lilah realises what’s happening with Carter, she starts trying to get him back, but it seems she’s really pushing him further away.
Can Lilah get Carter back? What are her plans for Jules? And can Carter break away without driving Lilah to harm herself?


This was a good read, and I really liked the tension and anticipation of what would happen next.

I liked Carter, although he let other people rule his life to much. I understood that he had been with Lilah for a long time, but at points it seemed like he wasn’t so much helping her as enabling her.
Lilah was crazy – like seriously deranged. I got that she has some psychological issues, and she was obviously depressed, but her behaviour did get out of hand, and it wasn’t surprising that people started to be afraid of her.
I liked Jules, and I felt really sorry for her. Admittedly she knew what she was doing when she tried to start something with Carter, so she wasn’t exactly innocent, but she should have told someone about what Lilah was doing to her before it got quite so out of hand.

The storyline was pretty good. I liked not knowing what would happen next, and Lilah got crazier as the story went on. It really did get to the point where I couldn’t look I was so worried about what was coming, and it was obvious that this whole situation was not going to end well.
I suppose it was a fairly predictable ‘deranged ex-girlfriend’ story, but I liked it. The little flirtation between Jules and Carter was good, although this book wasn’t really about the romance.
I liked the ending, but wish I hadn’t read the epilogue, it was ironic, but it also kind of spoiled the happily ever after image.
Overall; good mystery/horror
7 out of 10.


2 comments:

  1. Interesting cover, so I had to read more.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This was just an okay read for me. I didn't hate it, but it was too predictable to enjoy more. The end was a nice touch though. Glad you were able to enjoy it.

    ReplyDelete