Thursday, 12 June 2014

The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) by Lindsay Cummings

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)
Blurb (from Goodreads):
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.



The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

My rating: 2 of 5 stars



The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)

15-year-old Meadow lives in a dystopian society, where food is rationed, and life is hard.

Meadow is prepared to do anything for her family though, so she fights her way aboard a train, and goes to the city where she is tested for a job – by having to fight someone else to the death for it.



Zephyr is a ward of the city, and gets the lowest amount of rations in return for cleaning the dead off the streets. Zephyr is worried though because he has strange memories of killing people.

Can Meadow survive her test? And what is going on with Zephyr?





I was looking forward to this book, but unfortunately it bored me.



Meadow was pretty bad-ass, but most of the time she did have feelings, and didn’t kill indiscriminately. When she needed to be, she was pretty lethal though.

I didn’t really connect with Zephyr. I found his chapters a bit confusing, and to be honest I didn’t really care what happened to him.



The storyline in this just wasn’t for me. While it sounded good, the actual story just bored me, and I had to force myself to finish this. I’m sure other people will like this, but this was a repeat of ‘Teardrop’ for me – it just didn’t interest me at all.

The world building was okay, but I did find it confusing at points. The story really didn’t interest me though, so the more I lost interest the less sense it made.

There was some romance, but it totally came out of nowhere. When it happened I was surprised because I just didn’t see it coming at all.

There were some twists in this, but a couple of them were so darn predictable that they really annoyed me.

The ending was a bit of a cliff-hanger, but by that point I was just glad it was over. I won’t be continuing with this series.

Overall; boring and predictable for me, but other people may like it.

4 out of 10.

1 comment:

  1. I read this book too. I thought it was good, but I was expecting greatness from the premise. Meadow reminded me of Katniss Everdeen a lot.

    Erin @ www.raisedreading.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete