Thursday, 26 June 2014

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis #1) by Jaclyn Dolamore

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Disney Book Group and Netgalley.
Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.


Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

My rating: 3.25 of 5 stars


Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Disney Book Group and Netgalley.)
16-year-old Thea works at a telephone club, trying to make enough money to pay the bills after her veteran father’s supposed death, and her mother’s illness because of it.
When her best friend Nan goes missing and Thea is told that she committed suicide, she knows that something is not right.
Is Thea’s Father dead? Did Nan commit suicide? And can Thea help her mother?


This was an okay story, but it was a little strange in places.

Thea and Nan were both interesting characters. It was a little odd when the story went from following Thea to Nan and then back again, but I got used to it. I didn’t quite understand why Nan was so special, and didn’t really get it until quite late in the book. It was admiral the way that Thea believed in her mother and Nan, even when she was told not to, and was intent on helping them both.

The storyline in this was okay, but it wasn’t really what I was expecting. What this book boiled down to was necromancy, and although it was an interesting topic, it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. I did like this book in places, but I also found that the story dragged in places as well, and it was a bit up and down for me.
There was the idea of romance, but nothing really happened between the two people involved.
The ending was okay, but I had lost interest a bit by that point. I was glad that things worked out for Thea’s mother though, even if the outcome wasn’t exactly what she was hoping for.
Overall; okay story, but a little strange,
6.5 out of 10.


No comments:

Post a Comment