Saturday, 14 June 2014

Carrier by Vanessa Garden

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin Enterprises Australia and netgalley.
Carrier
Blurb (from Goodreads):
For fans of The Walking Dead and The Hunger Games comes a YA novel about freedom, choice and family — and the terrifying disease that makes them mutually exclusive.

From the day she was born, Lena has viewed the world through the jagged window of a razor-wired fence. The hundred-acre property she shares with her mother in the Australian outback may keep her safe from the Y-Carrier disease, but it is no longer enough to hold Lena’s interest, and her mother’s increasingly tight grip on her free will is stifling.

Just as her curiosity blooms and her courage rises, she meets a boy through the fence — the first boy she has ever laid eyes on. His name is Patrick and he comes with a dangerous yet irresistible invitation of adventure beyond the fence, an invitation to which Lena cannot say no.

But Lena’s newfound freedom is short-lived and she soon discovers that the Y-Carrier disease is not the only enemy she faces on the outside. Her new enemies want something Lena has, and they are willing to do anything to get it...


Carrier by Vanessa Garden

My rating: 2.25 of 5 stars


Carrier(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin Enterprises Australia and netgalley.)
16-year-old Lena lives in a dystopian world where men carry a disease which kills women. When Lena meets a boy for the first time she quickly falls in love, and decides to risk everything to be with him.


This was an okay story, but I lost interest.

Lena was an okay character but I didn't love her. Her decisions seemed rash and not well thought out, and she was so eager to go with Patrick it was ridiculous.

The storyline was okay, but it just fell a bit flat. The world building wasn't good, Lena's mother let her go far too easily after protecting her for so long, and I was really unimpressed with Lena when she didn't tell Patrick the truth about his father.
The romance happened very quickly, and I just wasn't a fan.

The ending was likewise pretty poor and the culprits (view spoiler) were an absolute joke! (view spoiler) is a freaking lame excuse, and the situation Lena was left in was pretty pants too.
Overall; not a fan,
4.5 out of 10.

1 comment: