Tuesday, 6 May 2014

Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to author Carrie Lofty.
Blue Notes
Blurb (from Goodreads):
For fans of Jamie McGuire and S.C. Stephens, a sizzling new adult novel featuring the tumultuous relationship between a young piano prodigy and a reluctant billionaire playboy—set against the vibrant backdrop of a New Orleans college campus.

After being bounced from foster family to foster family, Keeley, a talented pianist, is ready to start over as a junior at Tulane. But when she plays a small concert that attracts the attention of Jude, a brooding playboy and heir to an enormous fortune in the wake of his parents’ tragic death, suddenly Keeley’s life is thrown off balance once again.

Jude is the first person to confront her about the pain behind her music, and she struggles with whether or not to let him into her life, or to keep protecting herself from the hurt that relationships have caused her in the past. But Keeley’s about to learn that the melancholy young billionaire who appears to have everything he wants can open her eyes to exactly what she needs…


Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars


Blue Notes(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to author Carrie Lofty.)
21-year-old Keeley has had a difficult upbringing living with her vice-addicted parents, and then having to find her mother murdered. Now a 21-year-old music student, she’s looking for love.
Is Jude the right guy for her though?


This was an okay story, but it wasn’t really for me.

Keeley was an okay character, and I liked how strong she was in the face of adversity. She’d obviously been through a lot in her life, had had a difficult childhood, had had to testify against her own father at her mother’s murder trial, and had still come out of it all a good person.

The storyline in this was okay, but I did lose interest. I’m not sure whether this was just me though, as there didn’t seem to be anything obviously wrong, but I just didn’t really enjoy it. I failed to really connect with the characters, and just couldn’t get into the story. I think this is probably just a case of wrong person, wrong book though.
There was romance in this one, and some of the steamy scenes between the characters were okay, I just found it difficult to really enjoy them while I couldn’t connect with the characters though.
The ending to this was okay, and we got a happy ending which I was pleased about. I just never got to the point where I could really enjoy this though.
Overall; wrong book, wrong person,
5 out of 10.


No comments:

Post a Comment