Friday, 4 April 2014

The Lost Boys (The Lost boys #1) by Lilian Carmine

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Random House UK, Ebury Publishing and Netgalley.
The Lost BoysBlurb (from Goodreads):
An intensely addictive romance novel about girls, ghosts, and forbidden love, ideal for fans of Stephenie Meyer
 Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, 17-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home. But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard. Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Kate, The Lost Boys is a magical, romantic tale of girl meets ghost.

The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars



The Lost Boys(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Random House UK, Ebury Publishing and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Joe has just moved to a new town for her mother’s new job, when she meets Tristan.
Joe is instantly attracted to Tristan, but doesn’t get why they always have to meet in a graveyard.
Who or what is Tristan? And can Tristan and Joe ever be together?


I’m going to be generous and give this book 2 and a half stars, but boy did this book have issues.

The characters in this book annoyed me. Joe had a case of verbal diarrhoea. Every single moment of her life was narrated to us, from putting on her pyjamas to carrying a vase of flowers for someone. So much of this book was filled up with Joe’s mindless chatter or narration, about things that didn’t even move the story along, that this book could easily have been half the length it was, and infinitely less irritating.
Tristan irritated me because all he did was hide stuff from Joe, tell her the truth for pity’s sake!
And Joe’s mother. Dear me. This woman was crazy. Who leaves their teenage daughter alone in a house, with a naked boy who you know that she likes, who you’ve barely even met, asleep with the naked boy on the sofa, to pop to the shop? Who then adopts said stray, and pays for him to attend the same fancy boarding school as her daughter, even though up to 2 days ago, money has been tight. Really? Really? And telling your daughter repeatedly how cute her boyfriend is? Yuck. Just Yuck.

Let me assure you that I used the words ‘really?’ and ‘what?’ a lot during the course of this book. It seemed like every chapter even more ridiculous things happened, from Joe’s mother basically adopting Tristan, to Joe telling everyone at school that he was her brother?! Incest much? Not forgetting the fact that they allowed Joe to sleep in the same room as both Tristan and Seth – I know she has a boy’s name, but can you really leave her sleeping in the same room as two boys that she fancies? Sooner or later they’re going to do the deed.
The romance in this was also irritating – because not only did we get a love triangle, but because Joe told everyone that Tristan was her brother, we had a pseudo-incest thing going on, which was just wrong.

I’m not going to go through everything else that annoyed me with this book, because I’d be here all day! I really do think that this book could be improved with a bit of editing though, ignoring the irritating bits, the fact that there was so much in there that didn’t need to be made this book even more painful.

The ending was also pretty darn ridiculous. The solution to their little problem came about so simply that it was a joke, the hmm, ‘offer’ that the lost boys got was in the realms of fantasy, and the whole darn thing was just silly. I was glad that it was over though!
Overall; slow and irritating,
5 out of 10.


1 comment: