Sunday, 20 April 2014

The Accident by C.L. Taylor

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins UK, Avon and Netgalley.
The Accident
Blurb (from Goodreads):
The person you trust most may only be telling you half the story …

Fast-paced, suspenseful, this is a book with more twists than a helter-skelter that will keep you reading late into the night. Perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep and Gone Girl.

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

There is a lot that Sue doesn’t know about Charlotte’s life. But then there’s a lot that Charlotte doesn’t know about Sue’s …


The Accident by C.L. Taylor

My rating: 3.25 of 5 stars


The Accident(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins UK, Avon and Netgalley.)
43-year-old Sue is devastated when her daughter walks in front of a bus and ends up in a coma. The doctors say there’s nothing medically wrong with her, so Sue is convinced that if she can find out why Charlotte did it, she can get Charlotte to wake up. There’s more to the story than Sue expects though.
Why did Charlotte walk in front of a bus? And can Sue find out before it’s too late?


This was an interesting mystery story, but I wasn’t very impressed with the ending.

Sue was an okay character, but it wasn’t hard to think of her as delusional. I suppose that was part of the mystery – was she nuts or not? Was she imagining all these things that were happening? Was there more to Charlotte’s accident than everybody knew? But she did come across as bananas at points, and it really wasn’t difficult to question whether she needed psychiatric help.

The storyline was okay, and I liked the mystery element, I liked finding out about Sue’s previous relationship with James and how she had ended up where she was, and I liked her investigation into her daughter’s life. It was also quite intriguing trying to find out how the two stories finally came together.
The ending ruined this for me though. There were just too many questions left unanswered. Was Sue’s husband really up to something behind her back? And what became of Charlotte? Even though the question of James was tied up, we were still left with several things hanging, and although the interview with the author at the end of the book cleared one of those up, it wasn’t enough for me. I shouldn’t have to read the author interview at the end of the book to find out how it ended!
Overall; good mystery story, but the ending spoilt it,
6.5 out of 10.


1 comment:

  1. Sucks when a good mystery doesn't have a good ending.

    ReplyDelete