Sunday, 23 February 2014

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Sponsored post: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
Maybe One Day
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.


Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

My rating: 4.25 of 5 stars


Maybe One Day(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)
17-year-old Zoe and Olivia have been best friends since the age of four when they began taking ballet together, and even after they got kicked out of their ballet class, they still stayed just as close.
Then one day Olivia phones Zoe with bad news – she has leukaemia. Now it’s a waiting game.
Can Olivia recover from the leukaemia? Will she need a bone marrow transplant? And will she ever be the same again?


This book was so sad, that I really just cannot stop crying.

I loved both Zoe and Olivia in this story. Both loved each other so fiercely, and both were really passionate about dance, even if Zoe couldn’t admit it at times.

The storyline in this was really good. The whole thing flowed so nicely, and was just so real. The emotions and the way things happened just felt so realistic and believable.
This was a sad story though, a really sad story. The last 10% just killed me, and even now I can’t stop crying. I really just fell in love with the characters in this book, and couldn’t help but be upset by how this book ended.
This really is a tearjerker, but it’s so good it’s worth the emotional turmoil!
Overall; sad, but good.
8.5 out of 10.


1 comment:

  1. Sucks about the crying but I love seeing you enjoy a book so much.

    ReplyDelete