Wednesday, 4 September 2013

Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1) by Terah Edun


Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.


Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

My rating: 2.75 of 5 stars


Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to author Terah Edun and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Ciardis is a gypsy orphan who works as a laundress, and often goes hungry.
When she is approached by a woman in the street who wants her to journey to court to train as a Companion (think Mistress), Ciardis grabs the opportunity, and leaves the next day.

Ciardis believes that she has no magical powers, but once she begins her training she finds that she in fact has a very special gift which will show itself on her 18th birthday.
What is Ciardis’ gift? Will she make a good Companion? And will she be able to attract a good Patron?


This was an okay story, but I was a little bored in places.

Ciardis was an okay character, although she hadn’t had an easy life, and didn’t have much of a future. I felt quite sorry for her, and although it seemed like being a Companion was only one rung up from being a prostitute, it did seem like maybe a better option than washing clothes for other people and starving for the rest of her life.

The storyline was okay, but I did get a little bored in places. I don’t know whether this was just because the storyline didn’t hold my interest, or whether not enough was happening, but I did find my attention wavering quite a bit. The story was written nicely, there were no obvious plot holes, and the tale was believable, so maybe this was just a case of wrong person, wrong book for me.
I did like some of the ideas that we got in this book – such as the different ‘gifts’ that people had, like transference of skills from one person to another, or the ability to feel memories.
I also liked that we got a happy ending at the end of this book, although I wished that we had maybe gotten a bit more in the way of romance.
Overall; an okay YA fantasy story, but a little slow in places.
5.5 out of 10.


1 comment:

  1. I have been 50-50 on reading this book, kinda happy I didn't.

    ReplyDelete