Sunday, 12 May 2013

Fifteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton



Fifteenth Summer
Blurb (from Goodreads):
Love blossoms by the lake in this sweet summer romance, in the tradition of Seventeeth Summer and Sixteenth Summer.Chelsea isn’t looking forward to her summer at the lake. It’s the first time her family has been there since her grandmother died, and she can’t break out of her funk. But her summer takes a turn for the better when she meets a boy who works in the bookstore. Josh is cute, sweet, funny…and best of all, seems to like her as much as she likes him. As the days pass by in a blur of boat rides, picnics, and stolen kisses, she can’t believe how lucky she is. No one has ever made her feel so special, or so beautiful.



But Chelsea knows her days with Josh are numbered. She’ll be heading home at the end of the summer—and he’ll be staying behind. Will this be Chelsea’s summer of love? Or will it be the summer of her broken heart?


Fifteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Fifteenth Summer(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Simon Pulse and Edelweiss.)
15-year-old Chelsea is off to spend the summer with her parents and sisters, in her recently deceased grandmother’s house by the lake. Both of her sisters are looking for summer love, but Chelsea with her wild red hair doesn’t expect summer love at all, as long as she has a book in her hands she’ll be happy… until she meets Josh.

Josh’s parents own the only bookstore in town, and Chelsea thinks it must be fate, but Josh is sending out mixed signals, and she really doesn’t know how he feels about her, even when he suggests she work at the café next door to earn some much needed cash.
How does Josh feel about Chelsea? Can Chelsea ever see herself as beautiful? And what happens at the end of the summer?


This was quite a light, summery read, nothing too taxing, probably suited to readers age 12 and up.

Chelsea was a likeable character, but Josh was very difficult to get a feel for. I liked how Chelsea tried to keep up traditions from when her family had previously visited the lake house, and I liked how she tried to keep things that were important to her grandma alive.
Josh obviously worked hard at his parent’s store, and probably took on too much work. It was nice how he immediately felt something for Chelsea, but their interactions tended to be quite light rather than flirty.

The romance between the couple was light, it was more like they were friends who kissed occasionally than boyfriend-girlfriend a lot of the time. It took a very long time for anything to really happen between Chelsea and Josh, and it never went past a kiss or hand holding, making this ideal for younger readers.
I did like the storyline overall, but it was quite slowly paced, and not a lot happened between the couple, which is why I think this book would be more suited to a younger audience.
The ending of this book was a little disappointing, but I suppose summer love is just that – only for the summer.
Overall; a light, summery, younger teen read.
6.5 out of 10.



buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

1 comment:

  1. I like a light romance sometimes. Great review.

    ReplyDelete